I built a Firebase / Mongodb alternative!

·

3 min read

Introduction

Hi Developers, I wrote this as a motivation for me at first place to continue doing what i love, and for you guys to stay laways motivated about your work

Motivation behind

So Let's start one year from now, when i start building a Shopify application (It was my first one), in this app i needed to save the Acces Token i got from users, for that i start looking for database management system that handle a small amount of data ( I didnt want to use Mysql or Postgesql for this small project), i got as first result Mongodb, and i really found it easy to use (in the first sight), but the problems start when i wanted to install it and use it in my PHP application, IT JUST WONT WORK! I wasted two days trying to solve this but no results

Alternative

So i go back to my friend google and start looking for another alternative, i found a php library called SleekDB that saves data in sperated json files, and finally something works! i have done my first application with it and it was okey (not faaaast but it works, wich was the important thing for me) but i said I will improve it later

Two months later i start getting installs so the data stored was big and the application start getting slower but still working, and one day i got email from my hosting provider, they closed my account due to reaching maximums resources usage and when i checked the statistics in my cpanel, I figured out that the problem was the big number of inodes (files and folders in the whole hosting). at this point i was like WHAT SHOULD I DO, users waiting for me to solve the problem and i still dont know what to do, i got back to google and start looking again for a NoSQL database, got some paid services but they were so expesive for me, and it was in this moment when i thought about making my own secured and space saver system for storing big data

INI2

I thought using json as a way to save data but i found json has a lot of unnecessary characters like " , { , }, so i start looking for some alternative, i found ini as it has lesser characters, but it wasn't for multi dimensional array, i get the idea of making an upgraded version of ini and i called INI2

so for the database system i named it Inibase

Inibase

I start building a REST API, easy to use and quick for managing database

and recently i'm working on documentation to make it easy for developers to use this database system

Conclusion

I hope you liked my story, and i hope it will motivate you start building Your Idea

ps: Sorry if there is any typo :)